Home » humor » Squeezing My Eyes Shut

Squeezing My Eyes Shut

I was always under the misguided impression that as you age, you sleep better.  I guess I was looking forward to that.  Either I’m not at the magic age yet,  or I was lied to!  I’ve always had trouble sleeping, but lately it’s getting much worse.  An average night goes something like this:

1.  Between 8:00 and 9:00pm my eyes get very heavy.  It’s pretty normal to catch me doing the old head bob as I’m working at my computer or watching a tv program.  Now, to be fair, I do get up between 4:30 and 5:00am, so I think I have the right to be a little tired.

tired

very sleepy

2.  I sluggishly climb into bed, looking forward to blissful slumber.

3.  I wiggle around, finding the perfect sleeping position.  Sighing deeply, I close my eyes and prepare for sweet dreams.

4.  Suddenly, my eyes pop open and magically I’m wide awake.

5.  I switch positions.  I close my eyes.

6.  My eyes pop open and my mind starts thinking of all the things I need to do.

7.  I swear.

8.  I switch positions and squeeze my eyes shut tight.

eyes shut tight

squeeze those eyes closed!

9.  I wait and wait and wait.

10.  My eyes pop open and I swear.

mad

fuming mad

I could continue, but I think I got my point across.  At some point, I finally sleep.  I know this because I will wake up bright-eyed and ready to go!  I look at the alarm clock only to see that it’s still the middle of the night.  Usually, I wake up around 1am.  I then start the entire procedure over again.

In October, I will turn 55 and officially be a senior citizen.  Maybe that’s when the sleeping starts?

6 thoughts on “Squeezing My Eyes Shut

  1. Hate to be a party pooper, but I’m >55 and I’m sleeping less and less (or dreaming more and more, not sure which). Maybe its because there’s just so much more to think about and so many more memories for the brain to dredge up, but it seems like I get no more than 4 to 5 hours of sleep out of 9 hours in bed!

  2. Well, I’m 69 and here to report that getting to sleep is no longer a problem. What annoys me is that although I’m now retired and could sleep till noon if I wanted, I keep waking up earlier than I’d like. Very annoying.

    • I still have to be up around 5am for work, but I find I’m up close to that time even on days off 0_o. Good to know you can sleep, even if you do rise early! 🙂

  3. Are you kidding me?I think as you get older the body wants to sleep but the brain won’t have it.I go through the same ritual every night and sometimes I sleep and sometimes I don’t.That’s when I wake up my guy (who never has any trouble sleeping)by all the wrestling around.If you find the answer to this sleeping issue PLEASE let me know.Cute post.

    • Guys don’t seem to have the sleeping issues for some reason (correct me if I’m wrong). At least I don’t feel so alone now. You know the saying…misery loves company! lol

Leave a Reply

