Home » My Stories » I’m Rubber and You’re Glue

I’m Rubber and You’re Glue

Do you remember this old saying?  I remember saying it as a child when someone would call me a name.

“I’m rubber and you’re glue.  Everything you say bounces off of me and sticks to you!”

It gave power.  It felt good to say it.  Even today I’m tempted sometimes when I run into judgmental people.  I suppose we’re all judgmental sometimes.  I might be guilty of that now as I post this.  But, seriously, sometimes I get so frustrated.

Then, I remember something I learned in a child development class.  You can’t control how somebody else feels, you can only control how you feel.  Don’t let a person’s view of you have too much power.  This is so true and has been my saving grace at times.

If someone lives a modest life, are they still successful?  If you don’t drive a new car, have a large house, fancy clothes and a college education, are you still successful?  What do you think of when you hear the word success?  Contrary to the belief of some people I know, I don’t think money equals success.  If a person is happy, works hard, treats others with respect and tries to do the right thing, then they are successful in life.  If you are able to overcome hardships and live a full life, then you are successful.  That’s my view on it, anyway.

Victory becomes, to some degree, a state of mind. Knowing ourselves superior to the anxieties, troubles, and worries which obsess us, we are superior to them.~~Basil King

Boise River

A calming view. Boise River, near where I live.

7 thoughts on “I’m Rubber and You’re Glue

  1. I don’t think I’ve heard that one before (or, at least, I don’t remember it). One of my ‘rules of life’ is that no one can make you happy, or sad, or embarrassed, or angry, or fearful … only YOU have that power. I also try to remember that ‘What other people think of me is none of my business’ and ignore anyone else’s ‘judgments’ of me – its not always easy but it works at keeping me from putting too much emphasis on what others think/do/say and how I react to it.

    Margo

    • When I was young, everyone said this when they got mad. I so agree with you. It’s not always easy as hurtful comments are..well…hurtful. We can only control our own thoughts and actions, though. Thanks for the comment!

  2. I love your discussion on success. Right now, we are dead broke despite both of us working. But we volunteer and make family the focus of our life. So even when things look bleak I look at the attitude of my kids, their can-do-spirit, and think how lucky am I to see this.

  3. Well said. And I taught my daughter that rubber and glue saying just last week! She thinks it’s awesome and even practiced it.

Leave a Reply

