Home » humor » My Child, My Friend?

My Child, My Friend?

Recently, I overheard a conversation that made me think.  I wasn’t eavesdropping (very strange word, there),  I promise!  I didn’t have my ear against a door so I could hear.

This time.

It’s kind of hard to not hear conversations while waiting in line at a store.

Two moms were discussing their children and at one point it was stated, “You’re her parent, not her friend.”  I’m sure we’ve all heard that one before.

Dictionary.com states that a friend is:

1. a person attached to another by feelings of affection or personal regard.

2. a person who gives assistance or support
3. a person who is on good terms with another;a person who is not hostile
I know I’m going to get a lot of stern comments and crossed-armed angry looks, but why can’t we be both a parent and a friend?  Don’t all of the above definitions fit what you feel for your child?  Here is how I like to think of it.  Keep in mind that I don’t always conform to the accepted rules of parenting.  I like to break things down into layers.
I love, support, have emotional and affectionate attachment to my kids.  I give them assistance and support.  I’m usually on good terms with them and I’m very rarely hostile towards them.  So, I’m a friend to them and they are a friend to me.
There is one big difference between my friendship with my kids and a friendship with a peer.
I’m the dominant friend.  I’m the alpha friend.  I’m the leader of the pack friend.  I guide our daily life and ultimately make the decisions.  But DANG IT ALL, I am a friend!
Being a friend with your child is not the same thing as letting them walk all over you.  Don’t do whatever they want just so they will “like” you.  But, do be a friend!
kids on a swing

A few of my friends!

3 thoughts on “My Child, My Friend?

    • Thanks! I tend to over-think things sometimes. I read a couple of your posts, and they are fantastic! I’m having so much fun exploring the wonderful blogs on WordPress.
      Thanks for visiting.

      GrannyK (aka Kathy)

Leave a Reply

