Home » My Stories » Children Are So Simple, Yet So Complicated

Children Are So Simple, Yet So Complicated

First of all, let me clarify that by simple I do NOT mean stupid.  I don’t want anyone getting the wrong idea.

Children seem to see the world differently than adults.  Everything is an adventure.  Smiles come quickly and easily.  They find pleasure in the smallest of things!  How I envy them.  I know I was once a child, and I’m sure I felt the same way, but I don’t remember it.  I have a ton of childhood memories (which is strange, because some days it’s a challenge to remember what I had for breakfast), but I don’t remember how it felt to be a child.  When at work (I’m a nanny), I wish I had a special cord I could plug into them and regain some of that simple pleasure.  Okay, I admit that was poorly worded and could be misunderstood.  I hope it’s clear what I mean.

It’s so simple to entertain a young child.  Put a magnet and some paperclips on the floor and the fun goes on for a long time.  Bring out the wooden blocks, and kingdoms are built.  A “fort” built with chairs and blankets makes a perfect clubhouse. Paper and finger paints produce a world of wonderful imagination.  It can also produce a very big mess, but messes come with the job description.  I try very hard to join in on the fun and excitement of these simple activities.  I’m sure to another adult, my joyful clapping and dancing around would look completely ridiculous, but the kids don’t mind.  I guess I’m accepted as one of them.

Best fort ever!

Now, the complications come into play with emotions.  Children are all over the board with emotions.  They are raging bundles of emotion!  The problem is, they don’t really understand them and have trouble controlling them.  They react naturally to the emotions.

I am mad so therefore I scream

I am sad so therefore I cry

You ticked me off so therefore I bite

The biggest challenge in my job is trying to help children understand emotions and learn how to redirect or control them.  It’s also why I love my job.  Watching a child go from one big bundle of emotion to a much more controlled, calm person is a wonderful sight!  It also saddens me just a little bit, if I’m truthful.  I don’t want them to lose that excitement, that freely given laughter or the wonder of discovery.  Those are qualities I wish everyone could keep forever.

4 thoughts on “Children Are So Simple, Yet So Complicated

  1. This is a thoughtful post… and I’m going to use it to help me fine-tune the emotional energy my daughter’s always directing at my son in the form of screaming and pushing and protesting. Like you say… I understand where she’s coming from. She’s smaller and less in control and he sometimes annoys her. But we’ve got to work out a better method of expression. This was timely and helpful for me… thanks!

    • That’s how my son and daughter acted when young. She is younger and he teased and annoyed her. It really didn’t take long for her to get the upper hand and even to this day, he obeys her when she gives him an order. I think it’s hilarious, but then I have a warped sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

