Home » My Stories » Habits Are Hard To Break

Habits Are Hard To Break

I really hate having habits.  Once one is developed, it’s so hard to break.  I have certain times of the day that I have to follow the same routine or I am frantic.  I get crabby and nervous and can actually get a stomach ace and headache.  It only takes me a couple of times to get attached to something and then it takes weeks to get over it.  Even if I don’t like the activity that I’m addicted to, I have to do it,  and I have to do it at the same time every day.  It’s so annoying sometimes.

For an example, Angry Birds.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like the game.  It can be very entertaining.  It’s just that I don’t always want to spend ten minutes doing it before I go to bed.  Sometimes, I’m just too tired to play it and would rather just go to sleep.  If I skip that ten minutes of angry birds, I can kiss sleep goodbye.  All I will think about is that silly game.    I’ve been working on that one by reducing the time I play and I’m about to the point I can give it up altogether.

In the early morning, and I do mean early (4:30 or so), the first thing I do is make coffee and grab my pop tarts.  I’m always up for the coffee, but there are days I don’t really want the pop tarts.  I’m not always hungry that early.  Again, if I don’t eat them, it will drive me crazy!  The box just sits on the shelve, taunting me.  If I mess up that routine, won’t the whole day be a mess?  That’s how it seems to me.

Even though I know the whole thing is not really rational, I can’t seem to get over it.  I’m smart enough to know that if I skip pop tarts or a game, the world as I know it won’t stop.  It still will send me into a minor panic attack and I just about shut down.  I have to wean myself off the food or activity slowly.

I was really annoyed at myself this morning for being a total grouch just because my morning routine was interrupted.  I thought maybe if I type it out, I will see how silly the whole thing is and it will be easier to change!

Do you have a routine you can’t seem to change?

7 thoughts on “Habits Are Hard To Break

Leave a Reply

