Home » humor » Molly the Unstoppable

Molly the Unstoppable

If you’ve ever had a dog with floppy ears, you might relate to this story.  Floppy eared dogs have a tendency to get ear infections.  Molly gets one about once a month.  You can tell because she will start really shaking her head, and boy do those ears fly!  Unfortunately,  so does the drool.  The best you can do is quickly curl into a ball and protect your face when she shakes her head, hoping the flying drool will miss you.

Yesterday, she was shaking her head a lot, so we decided it was time to get the ear cleaning over with.  It’s always a difficult chore because she is terrified of it, but this time it was worse.  She knows what the medicine bottle looks like, so when my son approached her while holding it, she went nuts.  There was no way we could catch her as she flew through the house, knocking over lamps and tables.  We decided to take her out back to do it so we would have at least some of the house in working order.  My son put the bottle away until Molly calmed down.  He put on her collar and leash.  We smuggled the bottle back out of the cupboard and took her out back.  As soon as she saw it, she bolted.  My daughter was unfortunate enough to be holding the leash at that time, and off she flew!  Beck held on tight and was dragged full speed ahead as my son, Chris, and I followed behind screaming for the dog to stop.

We decided to gang up on her.  I grabbed the collar, and both Beck and Chris held onto the leash.  It made no difference.  Molly hauled all three of us around like rag dolls.  Chris made a valiant effort by leaping through the air and landing on Molly.  He bore her to the ground and put his weight on her as I frantically tried to lift one huge, floppy ear to squirt the medicine in.

Molly belly crawled with my son on top of her.  I could NOT get that ear done.  With one huge effort, she sent my son flying off and was again running all over.  As she flew by me, I turned and ran as fast as I could to catch her.

That’s when it happened.

I ran full steam ahead into a thick branch.  My head snapped back and I saw stars.  I heard my kids yelling to see if I was okay.  I was embarrassed, but fine.

We had to admit defeat.

Then, my son pipes up with, “I guess I should have put on her training collar.  She doesn’t fight much if I use that.”

Well, I’m not a violent person, but I almost hit him.  We could have avoided this whole mess!  I was not a happy camper, but now I can look at it and laugh.

We finally trapped the silly dog in the bathroom where she couldn’t run and got the ears done.  We have to do it again today, but I’m going to pretend I don’t notice and hide in my room when the time comes.

I am so glad Molly is a nice animal.  I know it doesn’t sound like it by this story, but she was just scared and she never growled or tried to bite.  I think the medicine stings, so I feel bad doing it.  It’s better than an infection, though!  Her incredible strength made me realize how terrifying it could be to have a dog of her size and strength after you and meaning it.

That is the story of Molly the Unstoppable.

4 thoughts on “Molly the Unstoppable

Leave a Reply

