Home » humor » Bifocals, Oh Somebody Help Me

Bifocals, Oh Somebody Help Me

Peanuts

(www.gocomics.com)

Well,  this one struck a chord with me.  I do wear bifocals.  I got them over a year ago, but I really do NOT like them.  I don’t care that they make me look older.  I am older, so that doesn’t bother me.  Well, I’m not that old, but …I’m not that young, either.  Maybe I’m just right?!

Anyhoo…

The problem I have with them is that I can’t walk when I wear them.  The ground looks distorted as if it’s slanting uphill.  I tend to want to stomp when I walk because it looks like I am walking up a slope.  They don’t help with mid range vision, either.  I can see clearly while driving, and I can read with them.  If I want to do anything that requires mid range, I have to take them off.  It drives me nuts!  plus, I paid $300 for them, and the reading glasses I got at the dollar store work better for reading.  Go figure.

Does anyone else wear bifocals?  How do they work for you?  Maybe I’m wearing them wrong?  They do sit on your nose,  right?  Let me know.

4 thoughts on “Bifocals, Oh Somebody Help Me

  1. I got my first pair of bifocals about 15 years ago (they’re the ‘invisible line’ style). I picked them up the day before taking my family to Florida for a week’s holiday. Fortunately I thought (at the last minute) to stick my old glasses (I’ve worn ‘reading’ glasses since Grade 5) in my purse. I had the exact same experience as you – the sidewalk kept tilting up and down as I walked and everything looked out of perspective. I ended up wearing the old glasses during our vacation and gradually ‘working in’ the bifocals an hour or two at a time when we got home. I’ve been wearing them for 15 years now and I honestly don’t even think about it anymore. It takes time, but you WILL get used to them!

  2. I got glasses once, as a last resort to cure constant headaches. I wore them for two days, walked into lamposts, crashed into people and fell over stationary benches.
    Not sure how that was supposed to cure headaches!

Leave a Reply

