Home » humor » Let It Snow!!

Let It Snow!!

Picture 005

I know for some of you, this isn’t that much snow, but for the Boise/Meridian, ID area, this is a lot all at once.

I grew up in Pocatello, ID and it could have some cold, snowy winters.  The house I grew up in had a large porch with four stairs, so pretty high up.  I remember being young and jumping off the porch into waist-high snow.  It was a very fun game.  Well, one time I did the run and jump thing, and disappeared.  The snow was over my head!

The schools are closed today due to bad roads, so I had a day off.  Of course, that meant I ran all my errands.  I’m kind of used to bad roads, and they weren’t really that bad.  Of course, I didn’t have too far to go either.

You know the song “Let It Snow” by lyricist Sammy Cahn and composer Jule Styne.  Well, I wanted to sing it today for you.  I added a few lines.

*clears her throat*

Oh the weather outside is frightful (That it is)

But the fire is so delightful (FIRE?!  We don’t have a fireplace. Call 911 NOW!)

And since there’s no place to go (We’re trapped with the fire?)

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow (QUICK! Haul buckets of snow in the house!)

It doesn’t show signs of stopping (The fire, or the snow??!!)

And I’ve bought some corn for popping (Great, popcorn hurts my stomach)

The lights are turned way down low (In other words, we lost power)

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! (I can’t see my car!)

When we finally kiss goodnight (Goodbye world, it was nice knowing you)

How I’ll hate going out in the storm (I can’t believe you’re making me go to the store right now)

But if you’ll really hold me tight (Good hug!)

All the way home I’ll be warm! (I hear you feel warm when you are freezing to death, is that true?)

The fire is slowly dying (YEAH! We doused the flames!)

And my dear, we’re still good-bying (Hey, we’re going to be okay now)

But, as long as you love me so (I guess my family isn’t so bad)

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! (Maybe I’ll get another day off!)

5 thoughts on “Let It Snow!!

    • It is snowing again here, and then we will get freezing rain. So strange. It snows, freezing rain and then warms up and rains to make it a mushy slushy mess. Rinse and repeat lol

  1. I love the way a new snowfall makes everything look. I live (and grew up in) Southern Ontario and we used to have WAY more snow when I was young than we do now (there used to always be a foot of snow on the ground by mid-November and it would snow more, and last, until mid-March), yet people complain bitterly when a few inches comes down and the roads are the least bit covered. I couldn’t imagine living someplace where it didn’t snow in the winter. When it snows, I always sing “Walking in a Winter Wonderland.”

Leave a Reply

