Home » Life » Mid (Okay Mid to Late) Life Crisis!

Mid (Okay Mid to Late) Life Crisis!

One day your life will flash before your eyes. Make sure it’s worth watching~~Gerard Way

In one of my quote search moods, I found this.  It stuck in my mind.  This morning I was imagining this happening.  I let my life play like a movie in my head.  I wish I had popped some popcorn first, so I would at least have had a tasty snack to enjoy while watching that very dull movie.

I’ve had some humorous things happen to me.  I’ve had tragic things happen to me.  I have had happy and sad moments.  Just like everyone else.  But, I have never really done anything.  At least that’s how it feels.  I wonder if most people feel this way as we get older?  The old routine of what ifs and regrets.

Now that I had a chance to be a whiny little kid about it (I love to do that), what do I intend to do about it?

Ummm, I really don’t know yet.  But, I will do something, mark my words!

First, I have to decide what I think my life is missing.  What would I like to do that will spice up the whole end of life movie that I hear you get to see.  What spice should I throw in?

I think I already have the answer to that, but I am scared to admit it.  Why?  Because it would mean me admitting to a very bad flaw in my character.  I am kind of selfish.  There, I said it.  My whole adult life has been centered around me scrounging out a decent existence for my children and myself.  My every effort has been centered around only my family.  We all have to do this to a certain extent of course, but I really think we need to find time to reach out and help others.  I truly believe most of us have that desire, it’s just hard to know what to do.

When this young girl in my care started doing fundraisers for children with cancer, it was a wonderful thing to be a part of.  I think it helped fill in the gap in my personality that was missing.  It does feel good to get outside of your own problems to help someone else deal with theirs.  I believe we were meant to do that.  We just forget while scrambling to survive.

I will figure out my own way of helping.  Then, when I’m watching that end of life movie, there still won’t be much that is really exciting, but it might at least be a ‘feel good’ type of movie!

 

One of my favorite pictures of my mom and myself.  We wore silly hats and matching blouses.  We were on our way to a tea party a seven-year-old girl was having.  It is a good memory.  It’s also a very tiny picture, apparently.

memom

6 thoughts on “Mid (Okay Mid to Late) Life Crisis!

  1. Especially as we age, I think it’s good for us all to take stock of our lives and try to figure out how we want to move forward, and how we want to be remembered. I’m at that point now also……..so many possibilities.It can be exciting!

  2. I firmly believe that the ‘third act’ of our lives is ‘our time’. Be self-ful (I made this word up – I like to think of it as the middle ground between selifish [which has such a negative connotation] and selfless [which swings too far the other way]; it basically means taking care of yourself while not ignoring the needs of others). FInd something that makes you happy, that fulfills you; that gives you joy – then ‘go for the gusto’!

  3. I think it’s totally OK to be selfish to some reasonable extent. You’re the only one who can make you happy, so do what pleases you. I myself find great satisfaction in helping others, so much even that my mom has been warning me about being too nice ever since I was a teenager. She’s afraid people are exploiting me and my compulsion to help others. I’ve had to teach me to be a little selfish at times and I think I’ve found a nice middle ground somewhere in between.

    Helping others is fun and it makes you, well me at least, feel good inside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

