Home » My Stories » Tired

Tired

Being tired seems to be my new normal.  I have been told that a person sleeps less as they grow older, and I am finding that to be true.  Most nights I fall asleep within 30 minutes after going to bed, but I only sleep for about four hours.  After that, on a good night I might be able to get back to sleep for an hour or two after tossing and turning for another 30 minutes.  Most of the time, however, I just kind of doze off and on until time to get up for work.

This is how I feel today

This is how I feel today, but this is NOT me.  I’m a little older than this.

I get up feeling worse than when I went to bed, and each day I slow down a little more.  I feel as if I have weights on my arms and legs.  It is an effort to smile and get through a day.  I was told to get more exercise.  It would actually help me sleep.  With arthritis in most of my joints, my running or aerobics days are pretty much over.  I have been told there are low impact aerobics where you don’t have to jump around like a monkey on acid.  I am going to try to find a dvd or two and give it a shot.  I am pretty active with chasing kids around houses and taking them to the park and such, but I might need more.

Today, my eyes are so heavy and they are red and burning.  It will be tempting to turn on the television and let the kids have at it all day!  I won’t though, because I would feel very guilty doing that.  It sounds nice, though!  Instead, we will gather fall leaves, color Halloween pictures and make Halloween place mats.  Maybe that will perk me up!

I hope you all have a very pleasant Monday.  If I don’t get fired for sleeping on the job, I will consider it a success for me!

11 thoughts on “Tired

  1. I don’t know how you’ve managed to function with young children with so little sleep. I can and do sleep eight hours a night. Maybe the problem is the change of seasons? Have you always been a bad sleeper?

  2. Me too. I love aqua exercises. Must Y’s have low impact or soft stretch progoams. I am moving to a town that has a large therapy pool. I am also old enough and lucky enough to have Silver Slippers so I don’t have to pay. But the bigger battle is motivating myself. As it is for most of us moving on to what I call the Downhill Slope. Finally, go here for an easy chair yoga that works for me when I can motivate myself, but I have found even doing a few off and on during the day helps. http://www.pinterest.com/pin/147141112798854875/

    Good luck.

  3. I feel your pain. Though I’m merely middle aged, there’s definitely a difference from my 20s and 30s in how well I sleep. Hope you make it through. Maybe your doctor can help.

  4. So sorry you are so tired…….I know it’s so hard to function when you feel that way. Have you had a complete physical lately? Just to make sure there’s no other reason for your fatigue (maybe anemia, for example)??

    • I haven’t had a physical for ohhhh probably 10 years lol. I really think it’s stress related. Our family has had a very tough year or so. It will level out soon and if it doesn’t I will get checked.

Leave a Reply

