Home » humor » Bus Adventures

Bus Adventures

Bus Clipart About five years ago, my daughter and I hopped on a bus and made the trip from Meridian, Idaho to Edmonton, Alberta.  Just a little trip.  We went to meet some friends we had been playing an online game with for years.  My daughter and the son of my friend had been chatting on Skype almost daily, and they were very anxious to meet.  It was a very long ride, but the trip was tons of fun, and it was worth the no sleep and hours of sitting on the way over.

After a week of friends and laughter, it was time to go back home.  My daughter decided to stay and spend more time with her gentleman friend.  Even after five years I can’t believe she did that.  My daughter has always been so shy.  The whole family was in shock that she did not come home with me!  She ended up staying for about a year and a half.

But, this post isn’t really about that.  It’s mostly about my trip home alone.  For some odd reason, I woke up in the night last night thinking about this, and I had to practically stuff my pillow in my mouth to keep from waking up the house with my giggles.

The day I had to get back on that bus to go home, I woke up feeling like I was coming down with a cold.  Not surprising, as I usually do get sick when I travel.  The bus took off at about 3 pm and by the time it was getting dark out, I was down right ill.  I knew I had a fever, but I didn’t have anything to take for it.  When you ride a bus, you are dumped in the strangest places off and on all day and all night.  You are either waiting for a different bus, or they are cleaning the bus and doing routine checks.  At one point in the middle of the night, they had us wait in the parking lot of a McDonalds.  It was so cold and I was so miserable!  All I wanted was my own bed in my own house.

I made it through the night, and later the next morning we arrived at Seattle, Washington and started the long wait in line to get through customs.  There was a huge delay, and we had to sit on the bus for several hours.  I was kind of in and out of sleep during this time.  I tried so hard to stay awake, but my head just kept falling over and I would wake up when my head hit the bus window.  During most of the trip, I didn’t have anyone in the seat next to me.  It was a relief since I was so ill.

At some point during that wait, while I had my forehead resting against the window and snored away, a young woman had taken the seat next to me.  I didn’t know it.  All I remember is suddenly there was a voice very near me, and I knew it was directed at me.  As if moving in slow motion, I turned my head that way and emitted the loudest, most shrill scream possible.  Right directly in her face.  I knew it was me, but I swear I was having an outer body experience!  I saw me leaning over slowly, my nose almost touching hers.  I heard the scream and I saw her eyes bulge out of her head.  But, I swear it was as if I was watching it and not participating!

It was by far one of the strangest experiences I have ever had.  I felt so bad for that poor lady.  She was a bit pale and shaken, but mumbled a quiet apology to me as I once again drifted off to la-la land.  I’m sure she thought I was drunk, or just a crazy old lady.

When I finally made it home, I had a fever of 104 and was barely able to function.  A lot of that trip was such a blur.  I’m probably lucky I made it home at all!  I don’t think I ever want to take a long bus ride again.

8 thoughts on “Bus Adventures

  1. I tend to be extremely LOUD when startled too. This makes me smile, though, because it’s good to know I’m in good company.

    Glad you made it home and didn’t need to stop off at some hospital away from home.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

