Home » Life » Men Do The Important Stuff

Men Do The Important Stuff

I knew the post title would draw you in!  Did it make the small hairs on the back of your neck stand up?  No?  Okay, maybe that only happens to me.

Anyway…

My son and I watched four kids this week.  The ages ranged from 14 months to 6 years.  The two three year olds (boy and girl) and the six year old (boy) decided to play house.  The younger boy was the baby, the girl was the mom, and the six year old boy was the dad.

The pretend ‘mom’ said, “Pretend I’m a doctor and I have to go to work.  You stay with the baby.”

The pretend ‘dad’ vetoed that idea.  “No, you have to be a nurse and I’m a doctor.  The men do the important stuff.”

I resisted the urge to ask where he got that idea.  I did gently explain that being a nurse or a doctor are both very important jobs.  Both men and women are nurses and both men and women are doctors.

I would still like to know where he got that idea.  I have suspicions, but that’s all they are.  What are your feelings on that?  Should I have said more, or did I do right to leave it at what I said.  I didn’t want to make a big deal out of it at their ages.

Leave your opinions on this if you will.

Ready….set….go!

5 thoughts on “Men Do The Important Stuff

  1. I have absolutely no idea whether it would have been a good idea to say more or not – like you say, in some ways you don’t want to draw attention to the issue, and particularly if you think he’s picked it up from someone significant in his life – would you be undermining that person if you stepped in? If it was me, I’d have said more and tried to ‘correct’ his view – not because I’m an expert parent, but because I simply can’t help myself when I hear comments like that, ha ha 😉

      • You’re absolutely right! But it is so hard when it touches a raw nerve. My mum still recounts the time when she was a little ‘abrupt’ with a six-year-old friend from school when he informed me that I shouldn’t be reading Roald Dahl books because they were for boys, ha ha. He’ll learn in goof time how brilliant women are! 😉

  2. Both men and women do the important stuff (including dishes), if they have any character. But I don’t have enough background to know whether this is a nurture or nature situation. Kids need to be taught compassion, empathy and understanding and be exposed to good role models. Good post – I think you should expand on it 🙂

    • I think it’s possibly a little bit of both, actually. Role models are SO important and kids mimic and repeat what they see and hear. Especially if the role model is someone they look up to and admire.

Leave a Reply

