Home » Life » Too Late to Start Over?

Too Late to Start Over?

You are very too old to set a new goal, or to dream a new dream. ~~C.S. Lewis

I sure hope this quote is true!  I find myself at a crossroads, once again.  I have been at crossroads many times in my life, but this time it is very terrifying for me.  I am heading very quickly to fifty-seven years of age, and I don’t know how many more times I can take abrupt changes in life.  I am tired just thinking about it.

A few years ago, my kids and I moved into my mother’s house with her.  The economy had crapped out and I lost my business and my home.  I really thought by now I would be established in my own place again, but life has a way of guiding you down other roads.  My brother became very ill with cancer, and I was needed to get him to his many, many appointments.  I avoided full-time employment on purpose to make sure I had ample time to do this.  So, the two years I thought I would need to get back on my feet stretched into four years.

Now, my mother has decided she would like to sell the house and move someplace smaller and easier to handle.  This house holds a lot of sad memories for her, and I don’t blame her for wanting to make a change.  It really is a high maintenance property and is getting to be too much.  She is going to move to another town and will have her own place right next to my sister.  So, she will be taken care of and still have her privacy.

Once she is gone, I will have no ties here.  I can go wherever I desire.  My biggest hurdle is a lack of education and skills.  I have watched children for almost thirty years now and I have no office skills.  The very thought of being stuck at a desk gives me nightmares!  As I age, people are starting to doubt my ability to keep up with the young kids.  For me, the younger kids are very easy, it’s the older ones that are getting harder for me.  This actually works in my favor, though.

I am going to start exploring options and decide where in the world I am going to end up!  This is exciting and terrifying at the same time!

Do you think we are ever too old to start over?  If you suddenly found your life completely open, what would you do?

 

20 thoughts on “Too Late to Start Over?

  1. I’m writing books and that didn’t start until I was almost 50! Some people are at the height of their thinking at 20. Other’s don’t ripen into the fullness of creativity until they’re over 40 or 50 or…. 🙂

  2. I sure hope changing things up doesn’t have an age limit because I am staring another huge change right in the face in near future after a year of relocation and constant change. Sometimes I think the only thing in life that is consistent is change. I will tell you what I tell myself on my better days….Just go with it and see where it takes you…not everything has to follow the conventional route to bring you to a better place…..

  3. I don’t know what I would do, that’s a great question! As for you, please don’t sell yourself short. Fifty-seven is not old (said the fifty-five year old :)) and I would think young parents would be fighting over you to take care of their children! Good luck as you start your new adventure, wherever it takes you!

  4. You are NEVER too old to start over (or take a hard left or right turn towards your dreams). What you need to do is spend some time reviewing your own passions and dreams and (re)discover the ‘girl’ inside who didn’t get to peruse them when she was younger and then figure out how you can do that now. There are lots of guidebooks out there that can help you hone in on what you should be doing with your life (I’m particularly fond of Martha Beck’s books – ‘Finding Your Own North Star’ and ‘Steering by Starlight’ are great). You’re about to enter the third act of your life (60+); you deserve to spend it doing what speaks to your own heart and mind (since you’ve dedicated the previous two acts to doing things for others). It’s YOUR time now – enjoy it!

  5. I often wonder what’s next while struggling to keep from losing what’s now. My wife and I talk about where and how we’ll retire, but the specifics are nearly as vague as they were 10 years ago. She read something online about how Portugal is a great place to retire to, but I’m pretty sure none of our grandchildren will be anywhere near there.

Leave a Reply

