Home » humor » Shutting Up My Inner Child

Shutting Up My Inner Child

I have been very busy doing grown-up stuff, like preparing to launch a business.  It has been a lot of work and I have had to actually use a few brain cells!  This is all hard enough without my inner child acting up.

All day today, there has been a song stuck in my head.  It is one that I sing with young children I watch and they seem to love it, but for some reason it annoys me.  I’m sure there are reasons for this, but I don’t care enough to try to figure it out.  Are you ready for the song?  Would you like to sing along with me?

“If you’re happy and you know it, clap your hands!”    

AAARRGGHH!  Make it stop!

13 thoughts on “Shutting Up My Inner Child

  1. Such a wonderful song.
    I used to work in a cafe and one morning, caught up in a panic attack, I was less than useless. We were a good group of colleagues/friends, each had strong and weak points. On that morning I was put on tables all morning with directions to chant a song in my head as I went to push out the panic.
    With my mushy brain unable to even think of a song, I was given the words, wound up, and set to go…
    “If you’re happy and you know it move your feet”
    To this wonderful song I paced around and around, clearing tables all morning and made it to the end of my shift. 😀

  2. I am launching a business, I guess that makes me an adult. I do not feel like one and wish I had one to launch it for me! Love that song, except the version where you pull on an ear.

  3. Ugh. That is a terrible one. Perhaps you could try changing it up in your head to get through it a little easier…instead of “clap your hands,” you could sing “….bangyourheadonthewall” or “….close your mouth” or “….forget this song,” etc.

Leave a Reply

