Home » My Stories » My Son’s HUGE Birthday Request

My Son’s HUGE Birthday Request

My son has a birthday on Thursday.  He is grown, and we don’t make a huge deal out of birthdays, but I wanted to get him something.  He needs pants, so yesterday I offered to take him shopping for new jeans.  He stuttered and shifted uneasily and didn’t answer right away.

“Don’t want to shop right now?”  I asked.

“Not really.”  He answered.

I could tell it was more than not wanting to shop.  Something was up!

“Do you not want jeans for your birthday?  You can give me other ideas.”  I said.

“Well, there are actually two things I want, but I didn’t want to ask.”  He grins.

I am preparing myself for something big, like a laptop or something equally out of reach financially.  Here is what he wants….

“I need socks.”  He said.

I can do that!  I can afford socks!  “But, you said two things.  What’s the other thing?”  I crossed my fingers for luck.

He grins again, “Ice cream.  I like ice cream.”

So, his birthday is taken care of!  Silly guy.

Chris with Molly.  Apparently, I need to take pictures of my son.  This is the only one I could find on my computer!! BAD MOM!

Chris with Molly. Apparently, I need to take pictures of my son. This is the only one I could find on my computer!! BAD MOM!

17 thoughts on “My Son’s HUGE Birthday Request

  1. Both my boys (33 and 28) still ‘expect’ socks and underwear (and loads of candy) in their stockings every Christmas. Both are now living with lovely girls, but they (apparently) don’t do that sort of shopping for ‘their’ men (as my mother did for my dad and I do for my husband). I think its great that your son has such a practical attitude towards presents (must be the result of good parenting, eh?)

    • Ah thanks! Also, he’s used to being poor LOL. I sure miss doing all those fun things with my kids. Maybe I will surprise them this year with a stocking full of stuff!

Leave a Reply

