Home » My Stories » Big Decision

Big Decision

My kids and I have discussed what our future is holding for us.  By discussed, I mean I talked and they listened.  Even though they are grown, they still see me as head of household and the major decision maker.  This can come in handy at times, but I am ready for partners, not followers!

So, I told them we act as equals and they can make whatever decision they want.  After staring wide eyes at me for a minute, they half-heartedly agreed.  So, we had our conversation.

I want to go back to doing home child care.  I want four or five preschoolers to teach!  I love the group interaction and the silly kids!  We watch kids now, but only part-time at each location, so it’s actually pretty hard to do any serious teaching or projects.  So, trying for a home child care would be so wonderful!

The problem is this poor old house is not even close to being able to pass an inspection.  It will take a lot of work and time to get it inspection ready.  But, we have decided to give it a try!  I want to have it ready in a year, or sooner.  We can do most of the work ourselves.  We will make improvements as we get the funds to do them.  It might be fun!

I am very excited and I do hope this works!  My daughter said she would be more than willing to partner with me after her current nanny position is done, which is after the 2015/2016 school year.  Perfect!

I just wanted to share my news.  I might even post some before and after shots as things get done!

12 thoughts on “Big Decision

  1. Oh, I think this is a great idea…following your dream and taking the time to do it up right and make it happen! It will be an exciting adventure I think. I agree with Floridaborne……keep us posted with pix and updates of the progress!

Leave a Reply

