Home » My Stories » Almost a New Year?!

Almost a New Year?!

I can’t believe it’s almost a new year.  I have been busy and ill over the last few weeks and that is why I have been missing!  I haven’t even been on WordPress to read much at all and I feel so out of touch.

I will probably jinx myself by saying this, but my illnesses have been different this year.  I have not had cold or flu or any of that nasty stuff yet. No, I have been getting the weird crap.  Two bouts of conjunctivitis and a nasty UTI that just does not want to go away.  It actually made me feel ill and all achy and the lab work didn’t look so great.  I have to go back next week to see how things are going.

During all of this, I did not miss a bit of work.  Kind of proud of myself as I am a HUGE baby when ill!

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and please be safe on New Year’s Eve.  You party hounds, you! haha!

21 thoughts on “Almost a New Year?!

      • No. Mine weren’t really UTI’s–they were kidney infections. A renowned kidney doc talked me into a major surgery to cut away 1/3 of my left kidney, which was congenitally malformed, so that he could make it drain better. I have since been told that his brilliant surgery resulted in liquid pooling in the kidney doorway before it leaves, making it that much MORE likely to grow thriving colonies of bacteria. Thanks, doc.
        My fun could have been caused from my lupus, my Behcet’s, or my then-undiagnosed, and now, only self-diagnosed, gout. (Turns out your uric acid levels can be perfectly normal and you can still have gout. You need to eat trigger foods before those tests in order to tell. My worst trigger was/is tomatoes.) My kidneys, which have given me a lot of pain my adult life, are now doing SO much better!

        Are YOU all better now, eye and below?

      • Oh wow, you poor thing! I am doing much better. My worst enemy is insomnia, which I have fought my entire life, but after reading about your health I suddenly feel lucky. I hope you are okay!

  1. Doesn’t it seem as if the *sick* season starts at Halloween and ends at Easter?

    I know of what you speak with UTI. The last one came on with a vengeance and no warning. I think the bacteria is getting smarter. 🙂

  2. I’m glad this year is nearly over… it brought so much tears and sorrows to so much peeps and pets… and I hope… naaah I know… 2016 will be a better year for all of us… even when we will start it with a hangover lol

  3. Hoping you feel better soon. But I’m very impressed that you didn’t miss any work! Maybe you can enter the new year, feeling a bit stronger and ready to take on the world, or at least your part of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

