Home » My Stories » Old People and Advice

Old People and Advice

I am posting this at 3:30 in the morning.  I woke at 2:00 and could not go back to sleep.  My brain starts thinking and I can’t seem to shut it off!  I fear I might be a zombie today, but I know from experience that no matter how tired I feel, I will not sleep when my brain goes into hyper drive.  So, here we go!

Yes, I am one of those old ladies who give out advice freely.  I remember when I was young, it would annoy me.  I would roll my eyes and just put up with it, but was annoyed because someone thought they knew things just because they were old.

Well, guess what?  The joke is on me, because you DO know a lot just because you are older.  Do I know everything?  Well, (yes) no, of course not!  But, I will and do share what I have learned over my years.  Especially, when talking to kids.  One of the boys I watch is thirteen.  He is a wonderful person, just as they all are, but he has this notion that he is picked on from his parents.  They do come down hard on him, but they have to.  His decision-making skills are still developing, and some of the things he says and does leaves me staring at him in wonder.  But, I still remember how I felt at thirteen, and I can really understand and relate.  I have been talking to him and not judging, but just letting him know I understand.  He needs someone to complain to, and I am willing to listen.  I try to explain his parent’s side of things as well, in a way that doesn’t make him feel like he is under attack, but is loved.

I can only give advice based on my life experiences, that is true.  But, if you gather enough stories from people who have been around a while, I think it can help when you are stuck or struggling.  Just knowing that others had the same experiences, or at least similar ones, can be of comfort.  Having a variety of possible solutions is very helpful!  I think it’s all in the delivery.  I try to avoid saying things like, “What the heck were you thinking!”, or “What the crap is wrong with you!”, before giving advice.  I think it sometimes, but I don’t say it!  I remind myself that I was once in the same situation, and if someone said something like that to me, I would have just exploded in anger.  That’s not helpful!

At the same time, I know I have much to learn, and I listen to the younger people as well as those older than I.  I won’t tell these kids that they can actually give great advice.  I wouldn’t want them to stop thinking that I KNOW ALL!!!!  That would hurt my rep, ya know?

Well, that’s it from this old gal for today.  Have a good one!  Oh, and if you are not yet out of bed, WAKE UP!  haha!

wakeup

3 thoughts on “Old People and Advice

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.