Home » My Stories » Interview Oopsie

Interview Oopsie

I had an interview for a nanny position.  I thought it went well.  As I was getting ready to leave, I asked if she would let me know one way or the other after she was done interviewing candidates.

She told me they didn’t have anyone else lined up.  She said she and her husband would discuss it and call with an answer in a few hours.  I was surprised, but thanked her.

I left their house an 12 (noon) and by 9 pm I still had not heard from them.  So, I sent a short email thanking them for meeting with me.  Just a casual follow-up thank you.

She immediately wrote back stating that the other lady she was going to interview cancelled and rescheduled for later in the week.  After they meet with her, she would let me know their decision.

So, I am thinking she forgot she already told me they didn’t have anyone else lined up to interview, and this was a way to put off telling me they didn’t want me.  I might be wrong.  Maybe, someone contacted them to apply right after I left.  I want to give them the benefit of the doubt!

I have had similar things happen before.  It’s like people are terrified to tell me that they don’t think we are a good fit.  I only get a bit annoyed when they tell me I am too old for the job.  Heck, I was once told I wasn’t pretty enough for the job.  Thank goodness I didn’t get that one!

Needless to say, I am not waiting for an answer and will apply to other jobs.  I found this a bit funny and wanted to share!

10 thoughts on “Interview Oopsie

  1. After I retired from teaching, at the young age of 58, I thought it would be easy to get a job with a nonprofit. I was told I would be bored on one of the two interviews I actually received. They were all happy to have me volunteer, though.

    Now at 65, I do think I’m too old to be hired so I will just stick with the couple of volunteer positions that make me happy but no money.

  2. I was once told I was ‘too young’ for a job (I was 21 and the job was working in a high school office; the interviewer actually said she thought I might become ‘too friendly’ with the students and be ‘unable to properly enforce the rules’). I do miss the ‘good old days’ when you were almost guaranteed a response to every job application (or, at the very least, every interview). Now it’s more of an ‘if you don’t hear from us, you didn’t get the job’ attitude (with a little ‘don’t call us, we’ll call you … IF we’re interested’ thrown in for good measure). So sad that prospective employers don’t treat applicants with the respect they deserve. I hope you find that perfect job soon!

  3. It never ceases to amaze me that people can say, “You’re too old” but don’t seem to equate it with “you’re the wrong sex/color/creed.”

    I mean…really? Hire a 25 year old who will stay for 2 years or a 60 year old who will stay for 10? People have their priorities messed up.

    • I do everything in my power to stay until the children are all in school. My shortest time with a family is my current one, so three years. I am only quitting because they won’t need me for 3 months but I still have rent. Money sucks sometimes.

Leave a Reply

